Past and Present LRF Scientific Advisory Board Members Honored with Prestigious National Awards for Leadership in Cancer Research

New York, NY – The Lymphoma Research Foundation (LRF) – the nation’s largest non-profit organization devoted exclusively to funding innovative lymphoma research and serving the lymphoma community through a comprehensive series of education programs, outreach initiatives and patient services – LRF Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) Member Emeritus Joseph R. Bertino, MD, FAACR, Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, The Cancer Institute of New Jersey and current SAB member Owen O’Connor, MD, PhD, Columbia University Medical Center have been named to receive prestigious national honors in recognition of their contributions to the global cancer research landscape.

The American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) recently announced that it will present its 15th AACR Award for Lifetime Achievement in Cancer Research to LRF’s Founding SAB Chair, Dr. Joseph Bertino. Dr. Bertino, who served as the AACR President from 1995-1996, will be honored with the Lifetime Achievement award in recognition of his significant body of work in advancing the research landscape around hematological malignancies and their treatment.

Additionally, Dr. Owen O’Connor of Columbia University Medical Center has been named a recipient of the American Cancer Society Research Professorship, marking only the third time in history that the prestigious award has been granted to a lymphoma researcher. Dr. O’Connor has been selected among a highly competitive field in recognition of his contributions to the understanding of peripheral T-cell lymphoma (PTCL), and his forward-looking vision in establishing Global Consortium to address future lymphoma research needs.

“On behalf of the entire Lymphoma Research Foundation, we’d like to congratulate both Dr. Bertino and Dr. O’Connor on these incredibly well-deserved recognitions,” said Meghan Gutierrez, Chief Executive Officer of the Lymphoma Research Foundation. “We have had the distinct honor of working closely with these legends in their field as members of our world-leading Scientific Advisory Board, and we are incredibly proud to see these visionaries receive third-party recognitions befitting their incredible leadership and legacy.”

The Lymphoma Research Foundation’s Scientific Advisory Board (SAB), comprised of 45 world-renowned lymphoma experts, seeks out the most innovative and promising lymphoma research projects for support.  Members of the Foundation’s SAB are leaders in blood cancer research, with outstanding experience and accomplishments in both lymphoma-specific research and clinical care. They guide the planning of LRF’s research program, selecting and monitoring grant recipients.