Lymphoma Research Foundation Funds 27 New Grants Supporting the Next Generation of Lymphoma Scientists 

Latest News

Lymphoma Research Foundation Awards More Than $5.4 Million in Lymphoma Research Grants

New York, NY (May 1, 2023) – The Lymphoma Research Foundation (LRF), the nation’s largest nonprofit organization devoted to funding innovative lymphoma research and serving the lymphoma community, has awarded 27 new research grants in 2023, amounting to $5.4M to cancer researchers who will advance our understanding of lymphoma and lay the foundation for improved patient care. 

The 2023 LRF grantee class encompasses 18 medical and academic institutions, with research initiatives investigating several lymphoma subtypes predictive markers, and emerging therapeutic methods. The grant selection process is led by LRF’s Scientific Advisory Board (SAB), which is made up of 45 international lymphoma experts dedicated to seeking out the most innovative and promising lymphoma research projects for investment. 

“These grants given by LRF help support the future of lymphoma research and all those affected by the disease,” said Sonali Smith, MD Chair of the LRF Scientific Advisory Board. “The funding will provide critical resources for these talented researchers to accomplish their goals in treatment and therapeutics research, ultimately bettering the lives of lymphoma patients around the world for years to come.” 

“I cannot overstate the importance of grants like these, awarded to researchers pursuing life-changing therapies for blood cancer patients,” said Meghan Gutierrez, Chief Executive Officer at the Lymphoma Research Foundation. “Each of these projects has the potential to fundamentally change the future for people impacted by lymphoma, and to further LRF’s mission to eradicate this disease.” 

2023 LRF Grant Recipients  

Clinical Investigator Career Development Award 

Elise Chong, MD –University of Pennsylvania, Perelman School of Medicine (Health Equity Initiative) 

Patrizia Mondello, MD, PhD – Mayo Clinic Rochester, MN (Peykoff Initiative)  

Roni Shouval, MD, PhD – Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center 

Xiaolong (Alan) Zhou, MD – Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine  

Postdoctoral Fellowship Grant 

Ajlan Al Zaki, MD, PhD – University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center  

Edward Dominguez, PhD – Beckman Research Institute of the City of Hope (Health Equity Initiative)  

Tayla Foral, PhD – Dana-Farber Cancer Institute (Health Equity Initiative, Dr. Oliver Press Memorial Fellow) 

Anouchka Laurent, PhD –Columbia University in the City of New York  

Yifei Liao, PhD – Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Inc  

Christopher Sauter, MD – University of Pennsylvania, Perelman School of Medicine  

Sanket Shah, PhD – Weill Medical College of Cornell University (Dr. Bruce D. Cheson Fellow) 

Lymphoma Clinical Research Mentoring Program 

Ayushi Chauhan, MD – Augusta University (Stephanie A. Gregory Distinguished Scholar) 

Daniel Ermann, MD – The University of Utah 

Julie Erika Haydu, MD, PhD – Massachusetts General Hospital (Runge Lymphoma Project Scholar) 

Swetha Kambhampati, MD – City of Hope Comprehensive Cancer Center (Eric Cohen Distinguished Scholar) 

Christine Ryan, MD – Dana-Farber Cancer Institute (Kanti R. Rai, MD Scholar) 

Timothy Voorhees, MD – The Ohio State University College of Medicine (Schroder Family Scholar) 

Lymphoma Scientific Mentoring Program – Lab/Translational Track (LTRMP) 

Ajlan Al Zaki, MD, PhD – University of Texas Anderson Cancer Center 

Alexander Boardman, MD – Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (Dobosh Family Scholar) 

Andrew Jallouk MD, PhD – University of Texas Anderson Cancer Center (Errol M. Cook Memorial Scholar) 

Wen-Hsuan Wendy Lin, MD, PhD – Columbia University Medical Center 

Erin Parry, MD, PhD – Dana-Farber Cancer Institute  

Follicular Lymphoma Priority Research Grants 

Arash Alizadeh, MD, PhD – Stanford University (LRF Scientific Advisory Board) 

Wendy Beguelin, PhD – Weill Medical College of Cornell University 

Joshua Brody, MD – Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai 

Robert Kridel, PhD – University Health Network, Toronto 

Matthew Maurer, D.M.Sc – Mayo Clinic Rochester, MN