Impact on Research

LRF Research Grant Programs

The Lymphoma Research Foundation (LRF) remains dedicated to finding cures for lymphoma through an aggressively-funded program for researchers.

Since its inception, LRF has made major contributions to the lymphoma research enterprise, awarding more than 450 research grants totaling more than $72 million. The Foundation’s volunteer Scientific Advisory Board (SAB), comprised of 45 world-renowned lymphoma experts, guides the Foundation’s research activities, seeking out the most innovative and promising lymphoma research projects for support.

Our Research Focus

Through its evidence-based research program, LRF aims to:

Advance Understanding of Lymphoma

Advance our understanding of lymphoma, laying the foundation for improved patient care.

Support Early-Career Scientists

Attract and train new investigators and clinicians in lymphoma, ensuring that the best and brightest scientific minds are able to continue their commitment to blood cancer research.

Foster Collaboration

Bring innovative ideas, energy and collaboration to the field of lymphoma research.


Highlighting its commitment to young investigators, the Lymphoma Research Foundation launched the first-of-its-kind lymphoma mentoring program in 2014.  Program participants, known as LRF Scholars, attend and participate in an intensive week-long workshop in which they learn from and network with the Foundation’s renowned Scientific Advisory Board members.  Over the course of the two-year program, LRF Scholars gain the skills needed to successfully design and administer clinical research studies, apply for future grant funding, and establish themselves as independent researchers.

LRF Scholars receive an additional grant of $10,000 to support professional development expenses to help advance their lymphoma career.  Participation in LRF’s exclusive mentoring program provides Scholars with a unique experience to learn how to build a successful career in lymphoma research from the best in the field.  As a result, LRF Scholars are often regarded as up and coming leaders in the field of lymphoma research.


LRF’s unique commitment to young investigators enables the Foundation to support science.  The LRF Postdoctoral Fellowship Grants are designed to support PhD fellows who have completed less than five years of postdoctoral work and MD fellows who have completed two to five years of fellowship work.

Areas of research may include, but are not limited to, etiology, immunology, genetics, therapies and transplantation. Typically, young investigator grants focus on basic science, which paves the way for scientific advancements and discoveries across a wide-range of cancers and diseases. The LRF Postdoctoral Fellowship provides a total of $105,000 to grantees over two years.  These grants from LRF provide the seed money necessary for young investigators, early in their careers, to be able to dedicate their time and talents to studying lymphoma.  Many grantees credit this program with solidifying their careers in lymphoma research. 


The LRF Clinical Investigator Career Development Award (CDA) Program provides grants to advanced fellows or junior faculty members to facilitate their transition to independent clinical researchers. CDA grant recipients have the greatest potential to contribute to the development of new lymphoma therapies and diagnostic tools.

The LRF Clinical Investigator Award provides salary support and protected research time to grantees over three years.  Many grantees received their first independent funding from LRF and have since become senior leaders in the field.


In addition to early-career researchers, LRF funds faculty-level researchers in areas of lymphoma research that may be understudied or have key issues in need of further investigation. These programs, which fall under the larger designation of Disease Focus-Area Grants, solicit innovative research in specific subtypes and/or patient populations, and may also target certain types of research, including studies on biological pathways, correlative studies from existing clinical trials, and collaborative multi-institution projects.

Through Disease Focus-Area Grants, LRF has supported research in chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL), diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL), follicular lymphoma (FL) and mantle cell lymphoma (MCL), as well as research on the adolescent and young adult (AYA) patient population.

Meet Our 2021 Researchers

Pamela B. Allen, MD
Winship Cancer Institute of Emory University
Career Development Award

Tomohiro Aoki, MD, PhD
BC Cancer Research Centre
LRF Scholar

Elena Battistello, PhD
New York University School of Medicine
Postdoctoral Fellowship Grant

David A. Bond, MD
Eric Cohen Distinguished Scholar

Lydie Debaize, PhD
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Postdoctoral Fellowship Grant

Edmond Feris, PhD
Dartmouth-Hitchcock Norris Cotton Cancer Center
Postdoctoral Fellowship Grant

Kathleen Dixon, Phd
University of Minnesota Twin Cities
Postdoctoral Fellowship Grant

Jamie E. Flerlage, MD, MS
St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital
Career Development Award

Rui Guo, MS, PhD
Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School
Postdoctoral Fellowship Grant

Zachary Epstein-Peterson, MD
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
LRF Scholar

Alexandre Hirayama, MD
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Postdoctoral Fellowship Grant

Hannah Isles, PhD
Weill Cornell Medicine
Postdoctoral Fellowship Grant


P. Connor Johnson, MD
Massachusetts General Hospital
Stephanie A. Gregory Distinguished Scholar

Richa Kapoor, PhD
Perelman School of Medicine University of Pennsylvania
Postdoctoral Fellowship Grant

Niloufer Khan, MD, MS
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
LRF Scholar

Arushi Khurana, MBBS
Mayo Clinic, Rochester
Clarence G. Henry, Jr. Memorial Scholar

Philip Lange, PhD
UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center
Postdoctoral Fellowship Grant, Bruce D. Cheson Fellow

Luis Malpica Castillo, MD
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
Chike Springer Legacy Scholar

Elisa Mandato, PhD
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Postdoctoral Fellowship Grant

Rossella Marullo, MD
Joan & Sanford I. Weill Medical College of Cornell University
LRF Scholar

Reid Merryman, MD, MS
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Career Development Award

Coraline Mlynarczyk, MS, PhD
Joan & Sanford I. Weill Cornell Medical College of Cornell University
LRF Scholar

Patrizia Mondello, MD, PhD, MSc
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Peykoff Initiative Scholar

Erin Mulvey, MD
Weill Cornell Medicine
Peykoff Initiative Scholar

Nicole Prutsch, PhD
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Postdoctoral Fellowship Grant

Jason Romancik, MD
Winship Cancer Institute of Emory University
Runge Lymphoma Project Scholar

Marco Ruella, MD
Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania
Career Development Award

Suchitra Sundaram, MD
Mount Sinai Icahn School of Medicine
LRF Scholar

Brian Sworder, MD, PhD
Stanford University School of Medicine
LRF Ambassador Scholar


25 Years of Innovation & Progress

1995 was a significant year for the Lymphoma Research Foundation (LRF)—it was then that LRF realized its dual mission to eradicate lymphoma and to serve those touched by this disease.

Finding cures starts here.  Through lymphoma-specific research grants and consortia, LRF-supported researchers have been involved in many of the most significant lymphoma breakthroughs witnessed in the past quarter-century.


The Healing Power of Compassion

For Kami Maddocks, MD of the Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center, the bonds she creates with her patients go far beyond the call of duty of a doctor and are the most rewarding aspect of her work.

Read More